Smile

Sometimes when I’m walking down the street I like to smile at strangers. Nothing creepy, just a slight twinge of the lips, or sometimes a full-on toothy grin (depending the type of mood I’m in). It’s kind of fun. Sometimes people smile back or even start up a conversation, but most of the time people just continue on their way, too busy to notice or stop to exchange a small expression.

Even though I’m sometimes ignored I take pride in the fact that I may have changed someone’s day, given someone the smallest expression that says, “hey, I noticed you.”

Its an amazing thing what a smile can do. It can connect you to anyone without muttering a word. It can say hey I’m having a good day and you should too. It can say hope you feel better, or hang in there.

When I see other people doing it too it gives me hope that there’s still human compassion in the world where everyone is rushing from point A to point B without stopping to (pardon the cliche) smell the roses.

So next time you’re walking down the street smile at someone you don’t know. It may just brighten up their day.

Leave a Reply

